Overbooked

Hello all, or blog/journal, or whoever this may concern,

I apologize for the lack of posts on this site.

At its inception (or revival), my aim was to be hard core with this blog. I even took a blogging 101 course through Writer’s Digest. However, there was just always an issue on what to write about.

Eventually, I decided everything I had was boring and I had to go out and live a little; then I could sit down in front of the computer and write.

No. I wish I could tell you that at this point I’ve been able to travel again since Oz and the Philippines, or that I ran that half marathon I was looking into, but my life took a different direction than planned this semester. All for good, and I’d go into it a bit more, except, that’s not what this post is about.

Brace yourselves.

My exciting news is that I have been on a total book buying binge. Right now I have books on everything. There’s a woman’s memoir of living with a schizophrenic mother. There’s The Body Sculpting Bible for Women. Cookbooks. Magazines. Ugh. Anything that sounds like what I’m into, basically, I’m buying these days. However, the issue is-I’m not reading them!

Uhhh-uh.

Can’t be doing that.

Because next thing you know, I’ll be having breakfast again with some guy I think I hit it off with the night before, and we’ll start talking about the books we like, and I’ll open my mouth about a title sitting on my shelf, and he’ll ask me what it’s about, and I’ll I have to admit that I don’t know! And then he’ll just stare at me like he’s dumbfounded or like I’m stupid.

Ya. Not cool.

Something similar enough has already happened. I posted photos once of some of the books on Facebook, so a guy ends up asking what new knowledge I’ve gained. Again! Same lame response! I knew nothing about the contents of my books!

So, now, I’m gonna give myself a little challenge. I’m going  to go through these books on my shelf one by one, and I am going to blog about them.

It’s a scary project. It makes me feel a little vulnerable, because although I won’t be talking about myself, the books will definitely speak of what I’m into and what I’m curious about, which are not things I’m used to sharing everyday. But that’s what makes it a real challenge.

At the moment, I have a few books in rotation, but I’m focusing mostly on a book by Rachel Bertsche. It’s called, MWF seeking BFF My Yearlong Search for a New Best Friend. 

I’m almost half-way. My goal is to finish this book by the end of the week. So, once I do that, I’ll be preparing my first ever book review for ya’ll…

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

